Blushingly Beautiful

8 Mar

I’m not even sure that blushingly is a word but I thought it sounded catchy. Wearing blush allows you to enhance the natural flush of your face without the “orange” look of a harsh bronzer. I was inspired to go through a few of my favorite blushes (which include drugstore and high-end) because as I sit here and write this it’s currently 65 degrees in Baltimore. HELLOOO SPRING!

1. ELF in Pink Passion: This color is so bright and pink that it actually makes me happier just putting it on. It’s very pigmented and doesn’t have any shimmer so it gives a nice matte look. I purchased mine at Target but the full line of ELF makeup products are available online at eyeslipsface.com

Image

2. Smashbox: I’m a huge fan of all Smashbox products and even though they are a bit pricey the quality is totally worth it. My two favorite colors are Heartbreak which is a coral with gold shimmer and Paradise which is a bit more of a nude-coral.

3. Lancome Blush Subtil: I have a duo compact which has the colors shimmer coral sunset and sheer peach organza. The coral sunset is a deep coral color with silver shimmer and the peach organza is a lighter peach matte. Both are beautiful and I love combining them together!

Image

4. Milani: I know I mentioned this in my drugstore favorites post but the Milani baked blushes come in a couple different shades and are my ultimate favorites.

Blush Application

If you are using very pigmented blushes like the ones I mentioned above, be careful with the amount you are applying! You only need a light swoosh to get a decent amount of color on your brush. Here is a good brush guideline when it comes to applying different types of blush and the look you are going for:

Image

So go have some fun and experiment with different colors that highlight and enhance your natural skin flush! Pinks and corals are all the rage this spring season. 

Whatever you do, don’t end up looking like this girl…

Image

3 Responses to “Blushingly Beautiful”

  1. MyEye4Fashion March 11, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    I love ELF’s pink passion blush! I own it myself, nice post!

    • dianapols March 12, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

      Have you tried any of their other blushes? I heard candied coral is pretty as well!

      • MyEye4Fashion March 12, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

        i have fuchsia fusion, its excellent for night time looks, i’ve heard peachy keen was nice.

Leave a Reply

