March Beauty Misses

27 Mar

In my journey to find the latest and greatest products I have also stumbled into a bunch that I wasn’t a fan of. Nothing annoys me more than when a company advertises a product and claims that it will do various things and it ends up not being able to live up to its hype. These following products I have had for about 2 months, plenty of time for me to fall in love (or in this case hate) with them.

1. Physicians Formula Happy Booster Bronzer: I had previously purchased the blush and really have been enjoying using it. It has great color and and the texture allows for easy blending on top of my powder; it also smells really good. But I was so dissapointed with this bronzer! There is virtually no color payoff, the colors look great in the pan but barely get on the brush (I was vigorously swooshing and stabbing it just so I could get some product). So after going through every possible brush I own, I gave up.

Image

2. Benefit Ooh La Lift Instant Under Eye Brightener: I have always been a fan of benefit products and found them to be pretty affordable and of good quality. I had high hopes for it but after using it every day for weeks I noticed NO difference. Literally nothing. I might as well have applied nothing under my eyes because that’s what it seemed like. The consistency is nice and it penetrates into the skin fairly quick but like I said, it didn’t brighten or conceal or reduce dark under eye circles or anything. What a bummer!

Image

3. MAC Benefit Fix +: I feel like I am going to anger a lot of MAC lovers with this one- seriously what’s the point of this product? I purchased it because so many people raved about it and used it as a makeup set or as a way to liven up your face. This did nothing for making my makeup stay on longer or reduce oil and keep my face matte all day. I tried reeeeaaaally hard to love it but I just can’t! I have also heard people using it on their hair to add a little shine and oomph, so maybe I’ll do that.

Image

I guess it’s true what they say, you can’t win ’em all right? But if you have any suggestions with these products or ones that work better than them, please let me know! 

3 Responses to “March Beauty Misses”

  1. productjunkiegirl March 27, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Might i suggest the body shops lightening touch for a brightening concealer that hydrates, and brightens (at least, while its applied – it does nothing to really improve the quality of skin, but definitely works magic when paired with a foundation). Their bronzers are also pretty awesome.

    • dianapols March 28, 2012 at 12:19 am #

      Thanks for the tip! I have always browsed through the makeup section of the body shop because nothing really caught my eye but I will definitely have to check it out. Recently I’ve been using Maybelline Dream Lumi-touch concealer under my eyes and it also works great.

  2. mascaraismyvice March 28, 2012 at 4:03 am #

    Finally someone else who agrees with me about the MAC Fix Plus! After hearing all the hype I tried it, and I thought there was something wrong with me, because it just did nothing for me. Thanks for the warning about the other two products 🙂

Leave a Reply

