Battle of the Lip Butters!

30 Mar

So it seems that every makeup brand is coming out with their own line of lip butters. What is a lip butter you ask? Basically it’s a tube or pot of tinted lip balm- a product that will give you color and keep lips hydrated. I noticed so many of them out there on the market so I did some research of my own and here are my thoughts on the most popular ones.

1. Revlon Color Burst Lip Butters (can be found at drugstores): These come in SO many different shades that it was hard to pick one. I got creamsicle and it was a nudeish-orange tint. The packaging is super cute and really easy to just throw in your bag and go. I didn’t love this color because it came out a bit white and too frosty on my lips. The texture was really smooth and it kept my lips moisturized but I felt like it came off within half an hour.

Image

2. Maybelline Baby Lips: Unlike the Revlon ones, these are scented and they smell SO YUMMY! I got pink punch and cherry me, both are very pigmented (pinkish/red) and kept my lips soft for a while. I have to warn you though, I was tempted to lick it off because these smelled so good. For only $3-4 you really can’t go wrong with these!

Image

3. L’Oreal Colour Riche Balm: I am a total sucker for packaging and these reminded me of the YSL lipsticks so I was pretty much sold after that. I purchased two shades: caring coral and nourishing nude- both great everyday colors! Out of the drugstore balms this is definitely my favorite. The color variety was very nice, they were well tinted (more than a balm but a little less than lipstick). These had a great shiny sheen to them which was great because I didn’t have to apply lipgloss overtop of it.

Image

4. KORRES Lip Butter (can be found at Sephora): I LOVE this stuff! Usually I hate any lip products in pots, but this one is worth digging your finger in. I have it in the jasmine flavor which also seems to have a bit of a vanilla scent. I really enjoy it because the scent isn’t too overbearing and it keeps my lips hydrated all day.

Image

5. Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Swivel Stick: This is a staple in my beauty bag for various reasons. This product can be used anytime you have super dry skin or chapped lips; I especially like this for the winter time when the weather seems to dry up my skin the most. It has a very nice vanilla scent and has no color or tint and I have heard people using it for anything from scars to stretch marks. It costs around $5 dollars and is well worth it for all the purposes it has.

Image

What are your favorite lip butters? Are there any colors/shades that you particularly love? Let me know, I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

