May 2012 Birchbox

12 May

I have to start off by saying that this is my fifth month of being a birchbox subscriber and each month I continue to be dissapointed. Sure, there have been a few products that I’ve enjoyed but nothing that I love enough to go out and purchase. I told myself that since this month was a special box I would hold off and wait to see if I like it, before I jump to conclusions and cancel my subscription. Here is what was included in my box:

1. Bright red hair tie- Its big, cheap and looks ridiculous. Not to mention its worth less than a dollar.

2. Dr. Jart + Water Fuse Beauty Balm SPF 25+- I don’t use BB creams because they don’t provide any coverage at all and are horrible for oily skin.

3. BVLGARI Perfume- I HATE PERFUME SAMPLES. I can get an entire bag of them from Nordstrom or Macy’s if I wanted to…for free.

4. Stila Waterproof Sparkle Eyeliner- This was nice because it was full size but it’s gold sparkly and crazy waterproof. To give you an idea, I swatched it on my hand and it took 2 days of washing my hands and a shower to come off. And they expect me to use this on my eyes? I’ll pass.

5. Ojon Voumizing Condtioner- Just another tiny hair sample to add to a travel bag; nothing special at all.

6. A notecard- Seriously birchbox? When am I ever going to send someone a card with something that says “XOXO” written on the front?

I hate to sit here and bash a company but I feel that so many people have been upset with their Birchboxes over the past year. Ever since they became more popular their customer service has decreased tremendously and their boxes are most of the time, a complete rip off.

What are your favorite beauty subscriptions? Let me know!!

Leave a Reply

